Rainer-Regimentsmuseum Salzburg 1924
Current items of interest


 

A „pre-opening“ of the Rainer regimental museum took place on 8th March 2016, together with the official opening of the „Fürstenzimmer“ (rooms of the Prince Archbishops) within the so-called “Hoher Stock“ of the fortress. These rooms have undergone a beautiful partial renovation lately.

By now most of the Rainer regimental museum is freely accessible to the public.

RAINERMUSIK Salzburg News:
New CD: "Gold and Silver"
Info at www.rainermusik.at

Museum opening times:

Jan-Apr: 9:30 am - 5:00 pm
May-Sep: 9:00 am - 7:00 pm
Oct-Dec: 9:30 am - 5:00 pm
Dec. 24th: 9:30 am - 2:00 pm

Advent weekends & Easter: 9:30 am -6:00 pm

Tours (free) for individual visitors - Call Mag. Markus Lechner Tel. 0662/83 11 57

Address and contact info

Rainer Regiment Museum T +43 (0)662/831157
Hohensalzburg Fortress
Mönchsberg 34
5020 Salzburg

Anfahrtsbeschreibung

T +43 (0)662/831157

 


Kontakt

Rainer Marsch – Military Music Salzburg

drucken weiterempfehlen
ENG » History » regiment

History of the Rainer Regiment

The regiment was established as “Oberst van der Beckh” by Kaiser Leopold I in 1682 in response to a new threat to Austria by the Ottoman Empire. Thereafter this regiment proved itself on all the battlefields of Europe. In 1769, the regiment received the number 59.

When the principality of Salzburg finally became part of Austria in 1816, the regiment consisted of recruits from Salzburg and both the Inn and Hausruck regions in Upper Austria and thus became the house regiment of Salzburg.

In 1852, Archduke Rainer Ferdinand, the nephew of Emperor Franz I., was named as the last regiment commander, and after his death in 1913 Emperor Franz Joseph I. declared that this regiment would carry the name "Archduke Rainer from this day forward.” After the Battle of Solferino, the Emperor bestowed the following unforgettable words on the regiment: "This regiment is among the bravest of the brave."

After a four year deployment on the Russian and Italian fronts in World War I from 1914-1918, in the beginning of November 1918 after the war had ended, the regiment was reassigned from Bolzano in Tyrol back to its original garrison in Salzburg by its final commander Lieutenant Colonel Richard von Schilhawskiy. It was disbanded there just like all of the other regiments of the Austro-Hungarian Army.

Rainer-Regimentsmuseum Salzburg 1924
Aktuelles


 

Die Voreröffnung/“Pre opening“ des Rainer Regimentsmuseums fand am 8. März 2O16 gemeinsam mit der offiziellen Eröffnung der sehr schön teilrenovierten Fürstenzimmer im sog. Hohen Stock der Festung Hohensalzburg statt.

Das Rainermuseum ist derzeit bereits größteneils für die Besucher frei zugänglich.

RAINERMUSIK Salzburg News:
Neue CD "Vergessene Schätze der Marschmusik"
Infos unter www.rainermusik.at

Öffnungszeiten

Jän-Apr: 9.30-17 Uhr
Mai-Sept: 9-19 Uhr
Okt-Dez: 9.30-17 Uhr
24. Dez: 9:30-14 Uhr

Adventwochenende & Ostern: 9.30-18 Uhr

Führungen für Einzelpersonen und Gruppen: Anmeldung bei Mag. Markus Lechner
Tel. 0043 / (0)662 / 83 11 57

Adresse und Erreichbarkeit

Rainer Regiments
Museum Salzburg
Mönchsberg 34
5020 Salzburg

Anfahrtsbeschreibung

T +43 (0)662/831157

 


Kontakt

Rainer Marsch – Militärmusik Salzburg

Mitgliedschaft - Beitrittserklärung

Informationen zur Mitgliedschaft
finden Sie » hier
drucken weiterempfehlen
DEU » geschichte » regiment

Geschichte des Rainerregiments

Das Regiment wurde im Jahre 1682 durch Kaiser Leopold I. als Infanterieregiment "Oberst van der Beckh" aus Anlass der neuerlichen Bedrohung Österreichs durch die Türken aufgestellt. In weiterer Folge bewährte sich dieses Regiment auf allen Schlachtfeldern Europas. Im Jahr 1769 erhielt das Regiment die Nummer 59.

Als im Jahre 1816 das Herzogtum Salzburg endgültig zu Österreich gekommen war, wurde dem Regiment ganz Salzburg und das Inn- und Hausruckviertel in Oberösterreich als Rekrutierungsbezirke zugewiesen. Dadurch wurde das Regiment zum Salzburger Hausregiment.

1852 wurde Erzherzog Rainer Ferdinand, ein Neffe von Kaiser Franz I., zum letzten Regimentsinhaber ernannt, und nach seinem Tode im Jahre 1913, verfügte Kaiser Franz Joseph I., dass dieses Regiment auf "immerwährende Zeiten" den Namen "Erzherzog Rainer" tragen solle. An dieses Regiment richtete der Kaiser nach der Schlacht von Solferino die unvergessenen Worte: "Dieses Regiment gehört zu den Tapfersten der Tapferen."

Nach vierjährigem Kriegseinsatz im Ersten Weltkrieg von 1914-1918 an der russischen und italienischen Front wurde das Regiment Anfang November 1918 nach Beendigung des Krieges geschlossen vom letzten Kommandanten Oberstleutnant Richard von Schilhawskiy von Bozen in Tirol in die Heimatgarnison Salzburg zurückgeführt. Dort wurde es wie alle anderen Regimenter des k.u.k. Heeres aufgelöst.